And the winner is...

5/23/2001 9:29:17 AM

May 23, 2001 - A large group of College of the North Atlantic students will attend the 4th Annual Provincial Skills Canada Competition Awards Ceremony and Breakfast being held from 9-11 a.m. on Wednesday, May 30 at the Holiday Inn, St. John’s.

College of the North Atlantic students took first place in 11 of the 19 Skills Canada Competition categories open to post-secondary students. Overall 20 College of the North Atlantic students placed in 16 different skills categories. This year’s winners from College of the North Atlantic were:

Automotive Service
1st Place - Keith McDonald, St. John’s Campus

3rd Place - Bart Davis, Happy Valley-Goose Bay Campus

1st Place - Tyson Sheaves, Port aux Basques Campus
2nd Place - Jordan Kelly, Burin Campus

Culinary Arts
1st Place - Eric Hynes, Bay St. George Campus
2nd Place - Tony Trask, St. John’s Campus

Autobody Repair
1st Place - George Kreuzburg, St. John’s Campus

Electrical Wiring
2nd Place - Shawn Haggerty, Happy Valley-Goose Bay Campus

Information Technology - PC Network Support:
2nd Place - Sheldon Chafe, St. John’s Campus

Information Technology - Software Applications:
1st Place - Shirley Chafe, Happy Valley-Goose Bay Campus
3rd Place - Janice Boone, St. John’s Campus

1st Place - Dionne Power, St. John’s Campus

Aircraft Maintenance
1st Place - Maurice Holloway, Gander Campus

Brick Masonry
1st Place - Jason Noseworthy, Corner Brook Campus

1st Place - Jody Farr, St. John’s Campus

Hairstyling (Ladies)
3rd Place Tie
Marcia Murray, Burin Campus
Doreen Downey, Bay St. George Campus

Hairstyling (Mens)
3rd Place - Melissa Miller, Burin Campus

Sheet Metal
1st Place - Travis Green, Happy Valley-Goose Bay Campus

1st place - Wayne Haynes, St. John’s Campus

All provincial winners will go on to represent Newfoundland and Labrador at the 7th Annual Canadian Skills Competition being held in Edmonton, Alberta from May 31 - June 4. Those who cannot attend the event can watch live broadcasted segments on the Internet at View the website for a detailed schedule of when each of the contest areas will be broadcast.


(Story prepared by Cathy Burke, journalism student, College of the North Atlantic)

For more information contact:

Stephen Lee
Communications Officer
(709) 643-7928