Our History

History of the College Structure in Newfoundland and Labrador

1963 District Vocational Schools (DVS) open around the province. Over the next few years DVS open in:

Baie Verte
Bell Island
Corner Brook
Grand Falls (Grand Falls-Windsor 1990)
Happy Valley-Goose Bay
Labrador City
Port aux Basques
Seal Cove
St. Anthony
Stephenville Crossing

College of Trades and Technology opens in St. John’s.

1967 Adult Upgrading Centre opens in Stephenville.
Heavy Equipment School opens in Stephenville.  
1977 Bay St. George Community College established in Stephenville encompassing the District Vocational School in Stephenville Crossing, the Adult Upgrading Centre and the Heavy Equipment School.

1987 Two Institutes and five Community Colleges are formed from the former District Vocational Schools, the College of Trades and Technology and the Bay St. George Community College. These Institutes and Colleges are:
Cabot Institute
Fisher Technology College
Avalon Community College
Eastern Community College
Central Newfoundland Community College
Labrador Community College
Western Community College

1991 The Fisher Technology College is renamed the Fisher Institute of Applied Arts and Technology.
Western Community College is renamed Western College of Applied Arts and Technology.

Five Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology and Continuing Education are formed from the two Institutes and five Community Colleges. These Colleges are:

Cabot College
Eastern College
Central Newfoundland Community College
Westviking College
Labrador College

1997 College of the North Atlantic is formed from the five previous Colleges.